+44 (0) 1252 794 100
Rally Round Driving Adventures
Image is not available
Driving adventures - Rally Round
Image is not available
Rally Round Driving Adventures
+44 (0) 1252 794 100
African Safari 2021 slider plate
Pure Mongolia slider plate
Page Plates maharajah marathon
Odyssey Italia II slider plate
trans himalayan slider plate
paris biarritz 2019 slider plate
flight condor page plates
GPC 2018 slider plate
haka classic 2016
the 2nd paris madrid plate
the road to mandalay plate
the 1st paris madrid plate
south american plate
the tiger rally plate
previous arrow
next arrow

All smiles on Paris-Vienna

In spite of wildly variable weather, from warm sunshine to intense thunderstorms, and a 2000km route that included several challenging mountain climbs (and daunting descents!), the 2016 Paris-Vienna Rally was a resounding success. Of the 61 starters who set off from Fontainebleau on Tuesday 13th June, only 16 failed to qualify as finishers five days later at Baden bei Wein. The tales of derring-do are too numerous to relate here, but you may read all about them in the rally blog on our Paris-Vienna website page (click here); we’ll be adding yet more photographs over the coming days. On the same page you may also watch our highlights video, peruse a daily results summary or access the complete results in PDF ot XLS (spreadheet) format. We’d like to congratulate every single participant, not least the following award winners, chief among them Robert and Jane Abrey, who secured the Charles Jarrott Trophy in their splendid 6.5-litre Bentley, and Irvine Laidlaw and Tony Davies, who amassed the fewest penalties of all in their Jaguar E-Type.

2016 Paris-Vienna Rally Award Winners

The Charles Jarrott Trophy

Robert Abrey & Jane Abrey – 1929 Bentley 6.5

Class 1 – Veteran (pre-1919)

1st: Peter Roberts & Colin Beasley – 1905 Bianchi Speedster

Class 2 – Vintage up to 2500cc

1st: Gerd Buhler & Birgit Deymann-Buhler -1938 BMW 328
 2nd: Nicholas Phillips & Barbara Phillips – 1932 Alvis Speed 20

Class 3 – Vintage 2500-4000cc

1st: Keith Graham and Susan Hoffman – 1935 Bentley Derby VDP
2nd: Michael O’Shea & Clive Venning – 1938 SS Jaguar MkIV

Class 4 – Vintage over 4000cc

1st: Albert de May and Nicolas Leonard – 1927 Bentley Tourer
2nd: Andrew Bailey & Philippa Spiller – 1928 Bentley 3/4.5
3rd: David Little & Julia Little – 1930 Bentley 4.5

Highest Placed Classic

Irvine Laidlaw & Tony Davies – 1969 Jaguar E-Type Roadster

Class 5 – Classic up to 2400cc

1st: David Alderson & Dennis Greenslade – 1967 Volvo 123 GT Amazon
2nd: Peter Holmes & Graham Clifton – 1959 Volvo PV544 Sport

Class 6 – Classic over 2400cc

1st: Dominic Manser & Jack Manser – 1984 AC Cobra 302
2nd: Jean Steinhauser & Anne Steinhauser-Collard – 1961 Aston Martin DB4

Team Award

Weally Old Team

Andrew Bailey & Philippa Spiller – 1928 Bentley 3/4.5

Robert Abrey & Jane Abrey – 1929 Bentley 6.5

David Little & Julia Little – 1930 Bentley 3.0
Spirit of the Rally Award

Kevin Bennett & Silas Hughes – 1965 Ford Mustang Convertible