+44 (0) 1252 794 100
Rally Round Driving Adventures
Image is not available
Driving adventures - Rally Round
Image is not available
Rally Round Driving Adventures
+44 (0) 1252 794 100
African Safari 2021 slider plate
Pure Mongolia slider plate
Page Plates maharajah marathon
Odyssey Italia II slider plate
trans himalayan slider plate
paris biarritz 2019 slider plate
flight condor page plates
GPC 2018 slider plate
haka classic 2016
the 2nd paris madrid plate
the road to mandalay plate
the 1st paris madrid plate
south american plate
the tiger rally plate
previous arrow
next arrow

Paris-Madrid winner heads for Bhutan

Entries continue to roll in for our Thunder Dragon Rally to the magical Himalayan Kingdom of Bhutan in November this year, and for our Paris-Vienna Rally in June 2016. We’ve also received a lot of enquiries about the Haka Classic Rally in New Zealand (November 2016). 

The winner of the Rally Round Paris-Madrid Rally in both 2013 and 2014, Alastair Caldwell has joined the list of Thunder Dragon adventurers. On this occasion he’s not bringing his very rapid, Paris-Madrid-winning 1938 Alfa Romeo 6C SS Torpedino, nor the 1963 Rolls-Royce Silver Cloud III in which he drove our groundbreaking Road to Mandalay Rally in 2014, nor even the 1968 Mercedes-Benz 280SL that was his car of choice for Bhutan until very recently. Preparation deadlines mean the Mercedes won’t be ready in time, so he’s now bringing his rally-prepared 1968 Porsche 912 (a four-cylinder 911), pictured above. Note the innovative oil cooling bucket, fitted for South Africa!

We understand the Mercedes will be ready in time for the 2016 Paris-Vienna Rally, which is already attracting entries from far and wide – none farther than Jeff and Glenda Robinson, who are coming all the way from Australia with their 1926 Dodge Brothers Tourer, the car that Jeff drove from Peking to Paris in 2010. 

Covering 1,950km (1,212 miles) over six days between two of Europe’s most beautiful capital cities, the Paris-Vienna will be a competitive rally much like our Paris-Madrid events, but with slightly shorter daily driving distances and thus more time for socialising and sighteseeing along the way. Once again we are celebrating an event from the pioneering days of motorsport – in this case the truly epic Paris-Vienna race of 1902 – and once again pre-war crews will compete for the prestigious Charles Jarrott Trophy. A separate category will cater for post-war classics of a type produced before 1969. 

Only a handful of places now remain open on the 2015 Thunder Dragon Rally (see entry list below) so we recommend swift action of you want to secure your place on this unforgettable adventure drive; you can read or download the full-colour event brochure on our dedicated website page – click here. For details of the 2016 Paris-Vienna competition, again including a full-colour event brochure and an account of the original 1902 race, click here. For the 2016 Haka Classic Rally brochure, click here

Don’t forget that you can also subscribe to our occasional Rally Round Newsletter by completing the simple form at the bottom of our website home page – click here.


Max & Julie Stephenson: 1923 Vauxhall 23-60
Chris & Sophie Evans: 1928 Ford Model A
Chris & Nicola Lunn: 1929 Bentley 4.5-litre Le Mans
Sir Gerry & Lady Joyce Acher: 1931 Ford Model A Tourer
Mark Winkelman & TBC: 1932 Plymouth PB3 Coupe
Richard Cunningham & Paddy Walker: 1937 Buick Coupe 40hp
Xavier del Marmol & Ines Bodmer: 1937 Chevrolet Master DeLuxe DHC
Frank Bird & Ross Oakman: 1939 Willys Sedan
Jorge Ruiz & Agustin Panes: 1955 Rolls-Royce Silver Dawn
Jose & Maria Romao de Sousa: 1956/65 MG Magnette ZA
Adrian Shooter & George Harding: 1958 Morris Oxford
Dougie & Kate Lawson: 1959 Jaguar XK150 DHC
Roland van Pelt: 1960 Volvo PV544
Peter McLaughlin & Jane Kitchel: 1964 Pontiac GTO
Jan van Gemert & Marion Huijbregts: 1965 Ford Mustang
Alastair Caldwell: 1968 Porsche 912
Dean & Kendal Golding: 1969 Rolls-Royce Corniche DHC
Roger Allen & Maggie Gray: 1971 BMW 2800CS
Gerd & Birgit Buhler: 1972 Porsche 911
Mark Robinson & Yvonne Fuller: Car TBC
Mark & Louise Seymour: Car TBC
Bill & Biddy Bolsover: Car TBC